Release, December 2013

The Publisher Mobile App

Great content is all around you and our Publisher mobile app is the ideal way to capture it. Photos are one of the best methods for engaging people on social networks and through blogs and newsletters. The Publisher app lets you immediately take a picture on your phone (or use an existing one), add a short status to go with it, and then post it to your account. Your configuration will determine if the photo is posted immediately to all of the destinations you define, or held for review prior to publishing. The submitted photo is then included in your media library for future use in newsletters and on your website.

Install the App

The Publisher App works on both iOS and Android devices (phones and tablets). To locate and download the App you can use one of the download links: 

iTunes for iOS devices:

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/publisher/id749348987?ls=1&mt=8

Google Play for Android devices:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.contentmx.app

Or, just search “ContentMX Publisher” in the App Store.

Connect the App to Your Account

When you run the mobile App for the first time, you will be asked to log in to your account to authorize the connection. You will only need to do this once. Enter the same username and password you use to access your account.

Once you enter your credentials, the app is ready to go. However, if you are the first user to connect the app to your account you will need to define a posting profile.

Configure the Posting Profile

 

Once you authorize and connect the app for the first time, go back to your desktop browser to view your account (and log in if needed). When you refresh the page you should see a pop-up window that will ask you to add a Posting Profile.  This profile indicates what networks will be selected when an item from the mobile app is posted. It can also determine the default settings for these items such as the status, tags, and scheduling. If a Posting Profile has been previously created or was created by another user, you will not be asked to define the profile again.

 

One common configuration is to have all pictures submitted from the mobile app reviewed before they published. This is done by setting the default message status in the profile to “Pending”.  

 

Using the Publisher App

The Publisher App is easy to use with these quick steps:

  1. Enter a short status message, and then click the Take Picture or Choose Existing buttons to obtain a photo you would like to attach to this message. Once selected, you will see a preview of the picture along with the message.
  1. When you are ready, click the Post button to submit your content to your online account where the posting profile will determine what happens next.

 

Organize Content Source Panels into Folders

Your content dashboard can hold a large number of content panels. Each content panel is configured as a separate source of valuable information for your business. These content panels can be easily stacked on top of each other within a column, and multiple columns of content panels can be viewed across the page. Tags can be assigned to the content sources and tag filters can be used to display only the panels that include these tags.

In addition to all of this, content panels can be organized into multiple folders that make it easier to navigate and find content panels.  

Displaying the Folders Area

The folders are hidden by default when you first view the Content Dashboard. To open and use the folders, click the Show Folders button on the left side of the dashboard.

 

Adding, Renaming, and Deleting a Folder

When you view the folders you will see that all of your current content source panels are contained in the Default folder. You can rename this folder (by clicking the pencil icon at the right) but you will not be able to delete it.

To add a new folder, click the + New Folder button. You will see a new Untitled folder added to the folder list. Click the pencil icon on the right side to change the folder name. Type the name and press Enter to save it.

To move a content panel into a folder, click and drag the title bar of the panel into the folder tab along the left side of the dashboard. The panel will disappear from the currently selected folder, and will appear when you click the new folder name to select it and display its contents.

A folder can only be deleted if it is empty. To delete a folder, first delete any of the source panels it contains or move any sources within that folder to other folders. Note: if any panels within the folder are hidden (due to filtering, etc), you will be unable to delete the folder until these folders are displayed and removed from the folder. The topmost default folder can never be deleted.

Once you start using folders, they will be displayed by default each time you visit the content dashboard. To close the folders area, click the Hide Folders button along the left side of the dashboard.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.
Powered by Zendesk